• explore /
  • engage /
  • enjoy

Courses & Workshops

BBC Archive Screening: Art and Conflict
13:00 - 14:00, Wednesday 24 September 2014
Ulster Museum

Elements of Irish Art: Fire


UN International Day of Peace
15:30 - 17:15, Sunday 21 September 2014
Ulster Museum

“Peace and sustainable living, outside and in”: a talk on peace and the environment by John McClean, NI Micro Moth Recorder.


The Road to War
19:00 - 20:00, Thursday 7 August 2014 - Thursday 23 October 2014
Ulster Museum

A joint lecture series exploring the impact and legacy of the First World War in Ireland.


Firm Favourites
11:00 - 12:00, Tuesday 30 September 2014 - Tuesday 2 December 2014
Ulster Museum

10-week lecture series with Amanda Croft and Colleen Watters.


Taming the Elements: 7. Dorothy Hodgkin, patterns and the Nobel prize
19:00 - 21:00, Tuesday 2 December 2014
Ulster Museum

What led to the exceptional success of Nobel Prize winner Dorothy Hodgkin, discoverer of the crystal structure of penicillin and insulin?


Taming the Elements: 6. From Test Tube to Turner: the role of the chemist in art
19:00 - 21:00, Tuesday 25 November 2014
Ulster Museum

How major changes in chemical techniques and elemental discovery influenced the subsequent development of pigments and their use in artworks.


Taming the Elements: 5. Bringing the Periodic Table to life
19:00 - 21:00, Tuesday 18 November 2014
Ulster Museum

The challenges of building real element displays around the world.


Taming the Elements: 4. New challenges for geology in Northern Ireland
19:00 - 21:00, Tuesday 11 November 2014
Ulster Museum

How the distribution of 55 elements in soils and streams across the Province has implications for mineral resources and the environment.


Taming the Elements: 3. The First World War: Its chemical origins
19:00 - 21:00, Tuesday 4 November 2014
Ulster Museum

The high explosives and synthetic propellants of WW1 can trace their origins back to the synthetic dyestuffs industry of the 19th Century.


Taming the Elements: 2. The origin of the elements
19:00 - 21:00, Tuesday 28 October 2014
Ulster Museum

Discover how common elements formed in stars, supernova and the Big Bang help to answer some of the big questions in modern astronomy.


Taming the Elements: 1. What’s in my stuff?
19:00 - 21:00, Tuesday 21 October 2014
Ulster Museum

Bringing together science and art to raise awareness of the chemical elements contained within the everyday objects we own, such as mobile phones.


October Creative Arts and Crafts
10:00 - 16:00, Wednesday 1 October 2014 - Friday 31 October 2014
Ulster Folk & Transport Museum

This October why not come along to one (or more!) of the craft courses running throughout the month.


November Creative Arts and Crafts
10:00 - 16:00, Saturday 1 November 2014 - Sunday 30 November 2014
Ulster Folk & Transport Museum

With lots of NEW classes added to the November programme.





Sign Up To Our E-Newsletter





Please tick what you would like to hear about above:





 Security code