back home NMNI HOME
  • explore /
  • engage /
  • enjoy

Cunningham Springhouse

Cunningham Spring House, Ulster American Folk Park collectionAbraham and Nancy (née Glasgow) Cunningham emigrated from Ireland and in 1810 arrived near Bakerstown in West Deer Township, Allegheny County, Pennsylvania, where they purchased 200 acres of land. 

Like many other Irish settlers, they were attracted to the area by its low taxes and large tracts of farmland.  

This one-and-half story Spring house was part of the Cunningham Farmstead. It has an overshot roof and dates from approximately 1840. It was constructed of poplar, pine and oak hand-hewn logs. A spring flowed through a sandstone arch adjacent to the springhouse and into the headwaters of Deer Creek.

Marie Alexandrunas and the Donald Dillner family donated the house to the Ulster American Folk Park in December, 1999.