back home NMNI HOME
  • explore /
  • engage /
  • enjoy

Reilly's Pub, Newtownbutler

Reilly's Pub, Newtownbulter Ulster American Folk Park collectionThis old grocery/tavern from Main Street, Newtownbutler, County Fermanagh, was built in 1820 by John Reilly, a stonemason from nearby Ballyconnell in County Cavan. 

John Reilly also built the Lanesborough Arms Hotel adjoining the tavern, and Newtownbutler’s courthouse and markethouse. The tavern was subsequently owned by John Reilly’s sons, John and Philip.

In 1856, Philip Reilly was listed in trades directories as a grocer, wine and spirit dealer and hotel proprietor.  He died at an early age and the property eventually passed to Rose Reilly, who managed both the tavern and the adjoining hotel until about 1956, when the hotel became a private dwelling.

The last owner of the building, Mr McCormack, is a great grandson of the builder, John Reilly.  He was able to supply the grocery/tavern’s original account books dating from the 1860s to the early 1900s. Several of these are displayed in the museum’s pub/grocery exhibition. These ledgers offer a unique insight into the daily routine of a grocery shop in this part of Ulster from the post famine period through to the advent of the motor car.